Livestreamed keynotes

From Wikimania
Jump to: navigation, search

We will be livestreaming several Wikimania keynotes on Youtube and and Facebook Live, via the Wikimedia Foundation's official account and on the main Wikipedia page (respectively).[1] Speakers and times to tune in are listed below.

Several other sessions will be recorded for viewing later, and all sessions will have a designated place to take notes. Those can been seen over at All Session Notes.

Friday 11 August[edit | edit source]

  • Community and information in a partisan world
    • Jimmy Wales, founder of Wikipedia, in conversation with Gabriella Coleman, the Wolfe Chair in Scientific and Technological Literacy at McGill University, facilitated by Evan Prodromou, an internet entrepreneur and wiki and software developer based in Montréal.
      • 9:00 AM ET/ 6:00 AM PT/ 1:00 PM UTC - 10:30 ET / 7:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM UTC
      • Watch on YouTube

  • Wikimedia 2030
    • Katherine Maher, the Executive Director of the Wikimedia Foundation, the nonprofit organization that supports Wikipedia and its sister projects, in conversation with Christophe “schiste” Henner, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Wikimedia Foundation.
      • 5:15 PM ET / 2:15PM PT / 9:15 PM UTC - 6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT / 10:00 PM UTC
      • Watch on YouTube

Saturday 12 August[edit | edit source]

  • Wikidemocracy: How We Can Save Free Speech, Privacy, and Democratic Values
    • Susan N. Herman, the President of the American Civil Liberties Union.
      • 9:15 AM ET/ 6:15 AM PT/ 1:15 PM UTC - 10:30 ET / 7:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM UTC
      • Watch on YouTube

Sunday 13 August[edit | edit source]

  • Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec: Libraries, Archives and sharing knowledge
    • Frédéric Giuliano, the Archivist-Coordinator at Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (National Library and Archives of Québec), in conversation with Hélène Laverdure, Curator and Director General of the National Archives at BAnQ.
      • 9:30 AM ET/ 6:30 AM PT/ 1:30 PM UTC - 10:30 ET / 7:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM UTC
      • Watch on Youtube

Notes[edit | edit source]

  1. The videos will also be uploaded under free licenses to Wikimedia Commons, but later.